Hardaway Hall, built in 1936 for the College of Engineering, is home to the aerospace engineering and mechanics and mechanical engineering.
The building contains a water tunnel facility and wind tunnel lab which contains a supersonic wind tunnel (Mach 2) and a new sub-sonic wind tunnel. Also in the building is the James Massey Hire Jr. and Mildred Ray Hire Design Clinic Laboratory. The first floor contains the Engineering Academic Advisement Center along with classrooms, labs, and a break room with vending machines. The second floor contains the offices for Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering Departments along with faculty offices, classrooms, and a student lounge. The Freshman Engineering Program is also temporarily located on the second floor while H.M. Comer is under construction.
Hardaway Hall, which was completed in 1936, is named for Col. Robert A. Hardaway who became the university's first full-time civil engineering professor in 1882.
Courtesy of the W.S. Hoole Special Collections Library
Information collected from The University of Alabama : a guide to the campus by Robert Oliver Mellown (Tuscaloosa : University of Alabama Press, c1988), and The University of Alabama, a pictorial history by Suzanne Rau Wolfe (University : University of Alabama Press, c1983). Historical images are courtesy of the W.S. Hoole Special Collections Library, The University of Alabama and are reproduced with permission.