Bibb Graves Hall
Bibb Graves Hall, built in 1929, was named in honor of Governor Bibb Graves and houses the College of Education. The building houses regular classrooms, high technology classrooms, science laboratories, and several large computer labs.
Additionally, Graves houses the Office of Clinical Experiences and the programs and faculty offices for curriculum and instruction; special education and multiple abilities; educational leadership, policy and technology studies; and counselor education.
Above the entablature and cornice of the building is a stone attic, in the manner of a Roman triumphal arch, bearing an inscription from the famous 1787 ordinance: “Religion, morality, and knowledge being necessary to good government and the happiness of mankind, schools and the means of education shall forever be encouraged.” These words were also a part of Alabama’s first constitution.
In 1927, President Denny and Dean Doster asked Professor McLure to assist with the plans for expanding and reorganizing the School of Education. He collaborated, especially with Professor Ralph W. Cowart, in the design of Bibb Graves Hall. In 1939 the wing containing the auditorium was added to the original 60,000-square-foot building. A major renovation of Graves Hall was completed in 2006 when several of the first-floor rooms formerly occupied by the College’s administrative offices were redone for use as computer classrooms and laboratories.
Courtesy of the W.S. Hoole Special Collections Library
Information collected from The University of Alabama : a guide to the campus by Robert Oliver Mellown (Tuscaloosa : University of Alabama Press, c1988), The University of Alabama, a pictorial history by Suzanne Rau Wolfe (University : University of Alabama Press, c1983), and the College of Education’s History page. Historical images are courtesy of the W.S. Hoole Special Collections Library, The University of Alabama and are reproduced with permission.