Foster Auditorium, built in 1939, houses the women's basketball and volleyball programs.
A restoration of the building was completed in January of 2011 and the building now contains locker rooms, team areas, meeting and video rooms, a weight room, athletics training facilities, and coaches' offices. The new seating capacity is 2,600 with seats on the floor level and the second level which overlooks the court.
The historic auditorium was named after the 16th University president Richard Clarke Foster who died in office November, 1941. The old multipurpose facility had a seating capacity of 5,400 and was used for graduation exercises, indoor athletics events, concerts, lectures, and other large gatherings, including registration.
Foster Auditorium is the site of Alabama Gov. George C. Wallace's "stand in the schoolhouse door" on June 11, 1963. The Malone-Hood Plaza in front of Foster honors the University's first African-American students. The building also housed the women's athletics programs during the 1970s and 1980s. After the women's athletics programs were moved, the Department of Kinesiology was partially housed in Foster until 2006.
Courtesy of the W.S. Hoole Special Collections Library
Information collected from The University of Alabama : a guide to the campus by Robert Oliver Mellown (Tuscaloosa : University of Alabama Press, c1988), The University of Alabama, a pictorial history by Suzanne Rau Wolfe (University : University of Alabama Press, c1983), and RollTide.com’s Facilities page. Historical images are courtesy of the W.S. Hoole Special Collections Library, The University of Alabama and are reproduced with permission.